Homework Pathfinders: American Decades
See Also
 

Finding Books

The Chandler Library has many books on the different American decades. On the Library Online Catalog consider these subject headings:

United States – History – 20th Century
Popular culture – United States
United States – Social life & customs
Nineteen Seventies (or whatever decade is needed)

If your search is limited to only websites, many reliable websites can be accessed through the Library Online Catalog.

Look in both the Reference and Circulating collections.
A great reference set is The American Decades: call number = Ref 973.9 American

Don't forget that the print encyclopedias, shelved in reference, are always an excellent starting point.
 
Finding Articles

Start your search by choosing Information Databases and selecting at least one of the following databases to locate magazine and newspaper articles, many with full-text and images about your topic:

Masterfile Premier
Newsbank Newsfile– choose School Library Edition
SIRS Researcher – choose Renaissance for the arts and humanities
 
Internet Resources

http://www.nhmccd.edu/contracts/lrc/kc/decades.html
American Cultural History: The Twentieth Century
From the Kingwood College Library, a terrific compendium of timelines and sites. Great overview of our times.

http://learning.loc.gov/ammem/collections/finder.html
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
From the Library of Congress, this must-see site grows daily. Click on the time-line for the appropriate era.

http://xroads.virginia.edu/~1930s/home_1.html 
University of Virginia's 1930s Project 
Examines the years between Black Tuesday (1929) and the bombing of Pearl Harbor (1941), through the film, print, radio, and design of the era.

http://newdeal.feri.org/
New Deal Network 
Covers the era of people who lived during the Great Depression into the early 1940s. Stories, radio broadcasts, and more. 

http://www.fiftiesweb.com/fifties.htm 
Fifties Web 
Recommended by the History Channel, with good links to music and television of the '50s.

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/exhibits/sixties/
The Psychedelic ‘60s